16 Years

We were only children the day we held hands and promised to love each other forever.

I looked into your eyes and they held hope and promise and joy and, yes, maybe even a little fear.

We didn’t know the things in our future, but we knew we would fight our way through them together.

And we have:  through the babies, through the joy, through the war, through loss and gain and lessons and mistakes.

And now I look into your eyes and I see hope and promise and joy and memories.  

And behind it all, there is your love for who I am.

Thank you for your patience, and your strength, and your listening ears when I talk too much.  Thank you for your honesty and your encouragement and always, always your belief in me.

You are my best friend, and the love of my life.  And I would not want to be me without you.

Happy Anniversary, Babe.

7 Comments

  1. Tara R. said,

    September 18, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Happy Anniversary, a wishes for many, many more happy years together!

  2. Huckdoll said,

    September 18, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    That was so sweet, Karen – it brought a tear to my eye 🙂

    Your marriage is inspirational to me, one half of a couple who has seen so many ups and downs over the past 4 years. Thank you for sharing your thoughts here.

  3. Mommy X said,

    September 19, 2009 at 6:07 am

    Awwwwww, so sweet! I remember your wedding day and how young and innocent you both were. Karen, you were such a beautiful bride. I remember your face, so filled with promise. Your hair with those pretty curls. We were all kids, huh? Glad you guys have made it through these 16 years. That’s a long time and a great accomplishment in a world like this!

  4. Jaina said,

    September 21, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    What a beautiful love letter. Happy anniversary my friend!

  5. Jelly said,

    September 22, 2009 at 11:54 am

    16 years, eh? Cool! Happy Anniversary! Funny, I’d just been thinking of your wedding over the weekend. We had out-of-town company, and their little girl loves Lucky Charms & ate them every day. Of course, when I saw the Lucky Charms, it brought back memories. : )

  6. Mommy X said,

    October 1, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Not to be naggy, but I need some Bunchy.

  7. david said,

    October 9, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    this was wonderful!!


Leave a Reply

